‘Birdsong’ by Sebastian Faulks

We have this room in our house called ‘the quiet room’. It was supposed to be somewhere where we could go to read or play music or chess etc. Growing up we were told we always had to be quiet in there hence the weird name. Anyway the room is constantly full to the brim with all.sorts.of.crap; Christmas lights, ladles, pine cones, a flat screen tv still in the box, a tea set from a hotel room…you name it, it’s probably in there or has been at some stage or another.

If you’re willing to shoulder the door open and climb through the piles of said crap you may be lucky enough to find a book. One day I emerged a little disgruntled after standing on the prongs of a plug with this book in my hand. I hadn’t even looked at it, I just grabbed the first one I saw and got out of there. Little did I know I had picked up one of the best books I would ever read.

I can’t say much except that I have read loads of war books (not purposely there just seems to be a lot of them around my house) and this is by far the best. Seriously I wouldn’t even attempt to review it just GO BUY IT NOW! You won’t be disappointed :) I will leave you with a direct quote from the book that I found particularly beautiful…

Birdsong book cover

 

“I do not know what I have done to live in this existence. I do not know what any of us did to tilt the world into this unnatural orbit.

No child or future generation will ever know what this was like. They will never understand.

When it is over we will go quietly among the living and we will not tell them.

We will talk and sleep and go about our business like human beings. We will seal what we have seen in the silence of our hearts and no words will reach us.”

Sebastian Faulks, Birdsong 1993

 

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “‘Birdsong’ by Sebastian Faulks

  1. Pingback: Birdsong – Part 1 Reviewed « Daly History Blog

Leave a Reply

