Mark Twain’s ‘The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn’ – WHAT.A.LEGEND.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”
~Mark Twain

It’s not surprising that Mark Twain is not only famous as an author but also for his quotations. The one above is my favourite because I love to sail. I am now in my final year of college and a lot of people have started asking me ‘what am I going to do?’. What I would really like to say is the above quote but usually I just say something like ‘Im not sure yet, I’m looking into internships’ yawn!

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is his most famous novel, argued, to this day as one of America’s greatest works. First published in 1884 it was a sequel to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and tells the story of Huck Finn, a young, rogue vagabond who runs away from his abusive, alcoholic father. At 15, I think I was at a pretty fitting age to read this for the first time. While long and slightly tedious at times it is well worth the effort. Twain perhaps feared his book being so successful because in his opinion a ‘classic’ is a book which people praise and don’t read and I think this is true. Prove him wrong and pick it up!

2 Comments

Filed under Children's books, Classics

2 responses to “Mark Twain’s ‘The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn’ – WHAT.A.LEGEND.

  1. PaPa

    I like your introduction.
    PaPa

Leave a Reply

