One of my favourite books ever, just don’t have time to review it myself and besides this one does an excellent job, I cannot recommend this book enough!

THE UNLIKELY BOOKWORM

As a child I read a book called Skinny Melon and Me by Jean Ure; written in the form of a diary it chronicled the life of Cherry, whose mother had remarried – much to her disgust – a man named Roland Butter. His favourite book, and one that was mentioned on numerous occasions in Skinny Melon and Me, was Dodie Smith’s debut novel, I Capture The Castle. Thus, when almost two decades later I scanned the list of the BBC’s Big Read, number 82 caught my eye immediately.

Written by Smith in the 1940s when she was living in California, and feeling desperately homesick for England, I Capture The Castle is a poignant novel about an impoverished family in the 1930s living in a decaying castle. And while Smith is best known for writing 101 Dalmatians, her debut novel has certainly worked its way into the heart of many readers, through its…

View original post 306 more words

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “

  1. Strange that I bounced in here while that particular book was being featured; it is one of my all-time favorites. i know it’s not exactly a bloke book, or an adult book, come to that, but it is an inescapably charming story with a vivid sense of setting and characters you would like to spend more time with. Unlikely Bookworm’s review was spot on.

  2. Lucie

    Love, love, love this book. I’ve re-read it so many times, now I just randomly open it up and pick up the storyline whereever I find it, and I’ll forever remember the opening line (so good they started the movie with it). Makes me want a castle and moat even more…

Leave a Reply

